JapAnne Diaries #1

The food is amazing. I didn’t really have much expectation on the food even if everyone I knew, every article I read, and every show I saw raves about the food in Japan. Nothing could have prepared for explosion of flavor in my mouth. From the moment I took my first bite of local Japanese food, I knew I was in for a treat and it would be a challenge to keep up with my “diet”.

Since I was here on business and the food is covered, I decided to relax my diet for the meantime because — why not? It would be such a waste, and one of the way to immerse myself in the culture is through food (yummy).

kanayamastation20191
Photo Taken from https://www.japanvisitor.com/japan-city-guides/japan-stations/kanayama-station

My first Japanese treat is called a Dorayaki roll. It is a like a pancake roll with beans in cream inside. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to take a photo of the roll because my hands were full from the baggage I was carrying. I had just arrived in Japan at 2:30pm —  hangry, tired, lost and beaten. I decided to take a break  and try some local food that was sold by two vendors in the middle of the train station (Kanayama Station) . After devouring half of the roll, I felt my energy picked up and my spirit ran high! Food was power and answer.

After that, everything I tried was suddenly the best thing I have eaten. The only problem is, I don’t really know what I was eating. What was the name of the dish? What’s in it? How do you eat it? Fortunately, I am a self-confess foodie and will try anything and everything.  Another bonus, is that I don’t have any food allergy so really am free to try whatever I want.  So I just rely on the pictures on the menu. A lot of guessing and surprises.

Once, I walked in a restaurant where no one spoke English and the menu was completely in Japanese (no pictures). Luckily, there neighboring club has free WI-FI that was extending to the restaurant. Using Google Translate, I asked the chef if he can prepare a recommended dish for me. He was surprised by my request by happily obliged.

The food he served was so yummy and I had to give him credit. He was happy with my feedback that he gave me a free dish, on the house! Extra yummy!

 

Leave a comment